Tuesday, October 20, 2009

McCormick Foundation Freedom of Speech Public Service Announcement Winners Announced

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

The McCormick Foundation journalism program congratulates the winners of the 2009 Freedom of Speech public service announcement (PSA) competition for college communications students. The student-produced PSAs are 30 seconds each and address "What freedom of speech means to me." 

The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) and the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) recognized the first place winners at the NAB headquarters in Washington D.C. on Oct. 14, 2009. During the luncheon, titled "Freedom of Speech in the Digital Media Arena," the winning students received scholarships in the amounts of $3,000 for first place, $2,000 for second place and $1,000 for third place. 

The winners are:

Television Category
1st Place: Chris Newell, Biola University 
2nd Place: Monique L. Pelletier, New England School of Communications
3rd Place: Michelle Wood, The Art Institute of Atlanta

Radio Category
1st Place: Stuart Mouritzen, USC
2nd Place: Theresa Rozwadowski, Central Michigan University
3rd place: Melodie Turori and Rob Croft, Biola University
The luncheon also featured a panel of broadcasters and journalists. Participants included:
  • Blanquita Walsh Cullum, governor, United States Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG)
  • Russell C. Hodge, founder, executive producer, 3 Roads Communications, Inc.
  • Paul Rodriguez, managing director of media, Burson-Marsteller
  • Kevin Z. Smith, president, Society of Professional Journalists, assistant professor of Journalism, Fairmont State University
Timing of the awards is in recognition of National Freedom of Speech Week, October  20-26. NAB and McCormick Foundation encourage stations to air these spots, available for download at the NAB Web site .

Did your station air these spots? Let us know what you think. 

0 Responses to “McCormick Foundation Freedom of Speech Public Service Announcement Winners Announced”

Post a Comment