Tuesday, January 5, 2010

New Year Ushers in Journalism Awards Deadlines

Tuesday, January 05, 2010

It’s actually not too late to add one more New Year’s resolution to your list: To submit your best work for consideration of journalism awards. Why not give it a try? After all, there’s nothing wrong with a little fame and fortune!

Thanks to San Francisco-based New America Media, here is a list of some upcoming deadlines of note:
Grantham Prize 2010: This prize honors outstanding coverage of the environment
Book deadline: Jan. 11, 2010
Other entries deadline: Feb. 1, 2010
For more information, click here

SPJ’s New America Award Competition: This prize honors public service journalism on issues of importance to immigrant or ethnic communities
Deadline: Feb. 12, 2010
For more information, click here

Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma: This award honors exemplary journalism on the impact of violence, crime, disaster and other traumatic events on individuals, families and communities
Deadline: Jan. 29, 2010
For more information, click here

Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards: The awards honor reporting on issues that reflect Kennedy’s concerns including human rights, social justice and the power of individual action in the U.S. and around the world
Deadline: Feb. 1, 2010
For more information, click here

Peter Lisagor Awards: The Chicago Headline Club, the largest Society of Professional Journalists chapter in the country, established the Peter Lisagor Awards in 1977 to inspire Chicago-area journalists to follow Lisagor's outstanding example and to recognize truly superior contributions to journalism. Founded as Sigma Delta Chi in 1909, the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) is widely acknowledged as the voice of journalism and a leader in recognizing members of the profession for outstanding achievement.
Deadline: Feb. 5, 2010
Fore more information, click here.

0 Responses to “New Year Ushers in Journalism Awards Deadlines”

Post a Comment